What is the chronology of meditation?

First is vasana (inherent interest to explore ourselves),
Second is knowledge (jnana – to satisfy mind and intellect),
Third is contemplation (mananah – to satisfy the intellect),
Fourth is meditation (dhyana – to go beyond the mind and intellect and reach the soul).
Then happens layana (merger), samadhi so on and so forth.