Kailash with Mohanji

“Kailash, just like our third eye, is supremely important, as the pillar or a key control point of the eternal universe. When a man touches his feet in the soil of Kailash, his journey of life becomes meaningful, fulfilled and his life becomes complete..”

                                                                                                                                      ~ Shri. Brahmarishi Mohanji

Places of significance during Kailash Pilgrimage

Pasupathinath Temple

Pasupathinath Temple is a famous, sacred Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva as “Pashupatinath” and is located on the banks of the Bagmati River in Kathmandu. This “extensive Hindu temple precinct” is a “sprawling collection of temples, ashrams, images and inscriptions raised over the centuries along the banks of the sacred Bagmati river” and is included as one of the seven monument groups in UNESCO’s designation of Kathmandu Valley as a cultural heritage site. One of the major Festivals of the temple is Maha Shivaratri on which day over 700,000 devotees visit here.

The twelve Jyotirlinga are considered the body and the Jyotirlinga at Pashupatinath is the head over this body. The temple is one of the 275 Holy Abodes of Shiva. As per Shivapurana, this Shivalinga is the bestower of all wishes. It is not known for certain when Pashupatinath Temple was built. But according to legends, Pashupatinath Temple’s existence dates back to 400 B.C. The area of Pashupatinath encompasses 264 hectare of land including 518 temples and monuments.

There are many stories for this temple. One story goes, in brief, that Shiva and Parvati came to the Kathmandu Valley and rested by the Bagmati while on a journey. Shiva was so impressed by its beauty and the surrounding forest that he and Parvati changed themselves into deers and walked into the forest. Many spots in the Kathmandu Valley have been identified as places where Shiva went during his time as a deer. Later, Lord Shiva announced that, since he had lived by the Bagmati river in a deer’s form, he would now be known as Pashupatinath, Lord of all animals. It is said that whoever came here and beheld the lingam that appeared there, would not be reborn as an animal.

During the Kailash with Mohanji pilgrimage, participants will be visiting this temple, upon their arrival at Kathmandu. Don’t miss this wonderful chance to visit the magnificent temple with our beloved Brahmarishi Mohanji.

Budhanilkantha Temple

The Budhanilkantha statue of Lord Vishnu (pronounced as Bishnu in Nepal) is the largest and most beautiful stone carving in all of Nepal.

This amazing statue has been carved from a single block of black basalt stone of unknown origin. The Budhanilkantha statue is 5 meters in length and it lies in a reclining position inside a recessed tank of water (representing the cosmic sea over which Lord Vishnu resides) that is 13 meters in length.

Called the Sleeping Vishnu, or Jalakshayan Narayan,  the deity reclines on the twisting coils of the serpent Adishesha (Shesha is the eternal, multi-headed king of the serpent deities known as Nagas, and also is the servant of Vishnu).

Vishnu’s legs are crossed and the eleven heads of Shesha cradle his head. Vishnu’s four hands hold objects that are symbols of his divine qualities: a chakra or disc (representing the mind), a conch-shell (the four elements), a lotus flower (the moving universe) and the club (primeval knowledge).

Yama Dwar

YAMA DWAR – The starting point of Mt. Kailash parikrama

The starting point of the 3 day parikrama (Circumambulation) around Mount Kailash is the Yama Dwar or The Gates of the Lord of Death. Yama (lord of death), who brings mortal souls to his haven and make judgment of one’s merit & sin, then release for onward cosmic journey. It is said, the real enter from this gate can be made after emancipating the soul from mortal world. ‘Dwar’ means gate. Symbolically, the Kailash region is likened to the divine world, separate from Earth. To enter this region, one must abandon the mortal self and hence pass through the Yama Dwar, so he reaches Lord Shiva, as a pure being. It is said that, once you have reached here, you are in Kailash and equivalent to have performed the Parikrama.

Tibetans call ‘Tarboche’ for Yama Dwar. They believe that Tarboche is the place from where they start circumambulation of their deity’s home. They believe that Kailash is the home of ‘Demchok’ (Demchok is the name of their deity). Every year, they install a new prayer flag-pole in Tarboche. They ritually take down the old one then replace it with a new adorned flagpole. The ceremony takes place on the full moon day of the forth Lunar month. During the ceremony, people from all over the Tibet gather here, they make the circumambulation of flag pole clockwise. While making circumambulation they play the music of horns, conches, drums etc. The ceremony lasts for a few days.

Gauri Kund

Gauri Kund is recognized with multiple names including ‘Lake of Compassion’, ‘Emerald Lake’ and ‘Parvati Sarovar’ as this lake is connected to the Goddess Parvati. The emerald lake is tucked at an elevation of 5608 on the way to the Mount Kailash while going downwards from Dolma – La (Dolma Pass). Our ancient scripture ‘Shiva Purana’ has references to this holy lake.

Gauri Kund is considered to be a very important element and thus, is mandatorily visited by each and every visitor present here and the divine story associated with it is continually proving to be one of the prime reasons responsible for the addition of this place in everyone’s bucket list who is planning to participate in the Kailash Manasarovar Yatra. The splashing of the Gauri Kund’s water is believed to purify your senses and also the soul, also they bring back some water from the lake to their homes for the purification purposes. Thus, indulging in the calmness, beauty and the clarity of the Gauri Kund is no less than an utmost satisfaction for thousands present here.

Lake Manasarovar

Lake Manasarovar is Kailas’ inseparable complement in every aspect. The lake is female to the mountain’s male, receptivity to its activity, depth to its height, a mirror to a proud statement and Manasarovar’s depths and colours contain a mystery equally sublime. Kailas is an immutable temple, a focus for adoration; Manasarovar is a shifting fluid mirror meant for contemplation.

It is also believed that the Devas – the Gods, descend to bathe in the lake at Brahma Muhurta – the auspicious time of the day between morning 3 to 5 o’clock and many Gods and sages are present at the lake in subtle from, blessing the pilgrims who visit it. (Testimonials about celestial being taking dips – Read here)

When the earth of Manasarovar
Touches anyone’s body;
When anyone walks in the lake;
He shall go to the Paradise of Brahma
He who drinks its water
Shall go to the Heaven of Shiva
And shall be released
From the sins of hundred births

~ from Ramayana

Manasarovar is depicted as a divine paradise: Royal swans, the emblem of Brahma, float on its transparent waters beside Bodhisattvas and Buddhas enthroned on giant lotus blossoms.

A Saint, who had undertaken Kailash-Manasarovar Pilgrimage to and stayed at Manasarovar thirty-two times writes, “From the spiritual point of view, she has a most enrapturing vibration of the supreme order that can soothe and lull even the most wandering mind into sublime serenity and can transport it into involuntary ecstasies.”

Lake Manasarovar is said to be the abode of the king of Nags – the serpent gods – and in the middle of the arc like surface of the lake once upon there stood a huge tree. Its fruits fell into the lake with the sound ‘Jam’; thus, the surrounding region came to be known as “Jambu-ling” or “Jambu-Dvipa” in the Hindu Puranas.

  • Devi Mohan offering prayers at Lake Manasarovar facing Mount Kailash
  • Glittering Lake Manasaroar and Mount Kailash